The 2015 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting today [27 November 2014] announced its judging panel ahead of this year’s official launch on 29 January 2015, which will also mark the Prize’s 10th anniversary.

The competition, a unique partnership between the Royal Exchange Theatre and property company Bruntwood, will accept entries from 30 January 2015.

AllJudgesPortrait330pxThe panel will be chaired by Nicholas Hytner, former Artistic Director of the National Theatre.

Completing the panel will be:
Sarah Frankcom (Artistic Director, Royal Exchange)
Vivienne Franzmann (playwright and former Bruntwood winner)
Ramin Gray (Artistic Director, Actors Touring Company)
Bryony Lavery (playwright)
Michael Oglesby (Chairman, Bruntwood)
Miranda Sawyer (writer and broadcaster)
Meera Syal (actor and writer)

2015 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting is open to writers in the UK and Ireland aged 16 and over. More information on the Prize, including how to enter and the closing date for entries, will be announced shortly at www.writeaplay.co.uk. 

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting is Britain's biggest playwriting competition. This round will mark the 10th anniversary of the Prize, which has supported the development and productions of a significant number of playwrights since its inception in 2005. 17 playwrights have been awarded a total of £160,000. There have been thirteen critically acclaimed productions of winning entries, as well as a number of productions of plays elsewhere that were identified through the judging process.

Over 9,000 entries have been generated from across the United Kingdom and winning playwrights have gone on to have work produced at the Royal Court Theatre, Almeida Theatre, on Broadway and in the West End. It is a significant investment in playwrights and support for new work on stage. More information about the Prize can be found at www.writeaplay.co.uk/about