Betty! A sort of Musical

Co-written by Maxine Peake and Seiriol Davies, directed by Sarah Frankcom

  • A Royal Exchange Theatre Production
  • 3 December 2022 - 14 January 2023
  • The Theatre
Book Now
×

'HERE'S TO A WOMAN WHO CONQUERED THE MURKY WORLD OF WESTMINSTER WITH NOTHING BUT WIT AND GUMPTION... AND ENOUGH HAIRSPRAY TO TURN A TSUNAMI INTO A KISS CURL.'


As the first female speaker of the House of Commons, Betty Boothroyd is a Dewsbury girl to celebrate, and the six ladies (plus Calvin) of The Dewsbury Players are going to do just that... through the medium of musical theatre! Their high-kicks may be wobbly, their acting ‘enthusiastic’ and the props left over from a production of MISS SAIGON; but, tonight, the Village Hall is their theatre of dreams! Emboldened by their heroine's indefatigable tenacity, this amateur group prove themselves to be extraordinary women on and off stage. 

Maxine Peake (FUNNY COW & ANNE) and Seiriol Davies (HOW TO WIN AGAINST HISTORY) write and star in this brand-new production, directed by former Royal Exchange Theatre Artistic Director Sarah Frankcom. At a time when everything seems so polarised, BETTY is a heart-warming celebration of the human spirit and the unexpected rewards that can come from thinking outside of the dispatch box.

  • Event Information
  • VENUE: The Theatre, the Royal Exchange Theatre

    DATES: Saturday 3 December 2022 - Saturday 14 January 2023

    TICKET PRICES: Standard Tickets range from £10 - £45. Limited numbers of Under 30s and Pay What You Decide tickets are available.

    BANQUETTES: £10 Banquette seats will be released at 10am on the day of the first preview.

    PREVIEWS & £12 MONDAYS: All preview performances are half price and all tickets are only £12 on Mondays (not including previews).

    TIMES:

    DAY DATE TIME(S)
    Saturday (preview)
    03 December 2022 19:30
    Monday (preview) 05 December 2022 19:30
    Tuesday (preview)
    06 December 2022 19:30
    Wednesday (preview)
    07 December 2022 19:30
    Friday 09 December 2022 19:30
    Saturday 10 December 2022 14:30 & 19:30
    Monday 12 December 2022 19:30
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 19:30
    Wednesday 14 December 2022 14:30 (SD) & 19:30
    Thursday 15 December 2022 19:30
    Friday 16 December 2022 19:30
    Saturday 17 December 2022 14:30 (C) & 19:30 (C)
    Monday 19 December 2022 19:30
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 19:30
    Wednesday 21 December 2022 14:30 (R) & 19:30
    Thursday 22 December 2022 19:30
    Friday 23 December 2022 19:30
    Saturday 24 December 2022 14:30
    Monday 26 December 2022 19:30
    Tuesday 27 December 2022 14:30 & 19:30
    Wednesday 28 December 2022 19:30
    Thursday 29 December 2022 14:30 & 19:30
    Friday 30 December 2022 19:30
    Saturday 31 December 2022 14:30
    Monday 02 January 2023 19:30
    Tuesday 03 January 2023 19:30
    Wednesday 04 January 2023 14:30 & 19:30
    Thursday 05 January 2023 19:30
    Friday 06 January 2023 19:30
    Saturday 07 January 2023 14:30 (AD) & 19:30
    Monday 09 January 2023 19:30
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 19:30
    Wednesday 11 January 2023 14:30 & 19:30
    Thursday 12 January 2023 19:30 (BSL)
    Friday 13 January 2023 19:30
    Saturday 14 January 2023 14:30 (SD) & 19:30

    SD = SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCE
    C = CAPTIONED
    AD = AUDIO DESCRIBED

    R = RELAXED
    BSL = BRITISH SIGN LANGUAGE

    BOOKING: Tickets are available to buy online

    If you need assistance with booking your ticket, or have an issue that needs resolving, please contact our Visitor Experience Team

    When your booking is complete, you will receive two emails. The first email will be your Order Confirmation. The second email will contain your e-tickets. You'll need the e-tickets within this email to show upon entry to the Theatre. If you don't receive this email, you can check your online account and once logged in, scroll down to the option 'E-Tickets' and all your current and past e-tickets will be here. If your tickets aren't here or there is a problem downloading them, please contact our Visitor Experience Team.

    TICKET TERMS & CONDITIONS:

    MiniMembersLogo

    Members get Priority Booking as well as exclusive extras for additional events. You can find out about Membership here.

    With your support, we can make brilliant theatre, tell stories, nurture new talent, and help as many people as possible get involved.

     

    Image of The Great Hall which links to the information about Visiting Us In Person

  • Creative Team
  • CO-WRITTEN BY: Maxine Peake and Seiriol Davies

    DIRECTOR: Sarah Frankcom

  • Accessible Performances
  • ACCESS PERFORMANCES:

    Captioned = Saturday 17 December 2022 at 2.30pm and 7.30pm

    Relaxed = Wednesday 21 December 2022 at 2.30pm

    Audio Described = Saturday 7 January 2023 at 2.30pm

    British Sign Language (BSL) = Thursday 12 January 2023 at 7.30pm

Join the Discussion