WORLD PREMIERE. An Eclipse Theatre Company and Royal Exchange Theatre co-production.

BLACK MEN WALKING

  • Written by Testament. Directed by Dawn Walton.
  • 18 January 2018 - 3 February 2018
  • The Studio

“We walk.
Though we are written into the landscape you don’t see us.
We walked England before the English.”

Thomas, Matthew and Richard walk. They walk the first Saturday of every month. Walking and talking. But this walk… Maybe they should have cancelled, but they needed the walk today. Out in the Peaks, they find themselves forced to walk backwards through two thousand years before they can move forwards.

This story is part of Revolution Mix – a movement that is delivering the largest ever number of new Black British Stories nationally. It is inspired by and dedicated to the Black Men’s Walking Group, and is a compelling, constantly surprising new show that turns a spotlight onto Britain’s missing histories.

 

BLACK MEN WALKING will be touring to the following venues:

Belgrade Theatre, Coventry
Wed 7 - Sat 10 Feb

Northern Stage, Newcastle
Thu 15 - Sat 17 Feb

West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds
Wed 21 - Sat 24 Feb

Hull Truck Theatre
Tue 27 Feb – Sat 3 Mar

Nottingham Playhouse
Mon 5 - Tues 6 Mar

Bristol Old Vic at The Arnolfini
Thur 8 - Sat 10 Mar

Theatr Clwyd, Mold
Fri 16 - Sat 17 Mar

The Royal Court Theatre, London
Wed 21 Mar - Sat 07 Apr

Crucible Theatre, Sheffield
Mon 9 - Thu 12 Apr

Salisbury Playhouse
Wed 18 - Sat 21 Apr

The North Wall Arts Centre, Oxford
Mon 23 - Tues 24 Apr

Unity Theatre, Liverpool
Thu 26 - Sat 28 Apr

  • Event Information
  • VENUE: The Studio

    PERFORMANCE DATES: Thursday 18 January - Saturday 3 February 2018

    PERFORMANCE TIMES: Matinees, 2.30pm / Evenings, 7.30pm
    View all times & dates 

    RUNNING TIME: Approx 1 hour and 30 minutes. No interval.

    TICKET INFORMATION: £13.00 / £11.00
    View all ticket prices

    SEASON TICKETS: Part of the Season Ticket Package
    More Information

    BOOK TICKETS: Box Office 0161 833 9833 / online  

    PLEASE NOTE: This production uses smoke and haze for effects.

    MiniMembersLogo

    Members get Priority Booking for each season as well as for additional events. You can find out about Membership here.

    With your support, we can make brilliant theatre, tell stories, nurture new talent, and help as many people as possible get involved. 

  • Related Events
  • POST-SHOW DISCUSSION
    After Tuesday 23 January evening performance
    No need to book tickets for discussion
    Book tickets to performance

  • Accessible Performances
  • AUDIO-DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE: Saturday 3 February, 2.30pm

    AUDIO-DESCRIBED INTRODUCTION

    BSL PERFORMANCE: Wednesday 31 January, 7.30pm

    CAPTIONED PERFORMANCE: Saturday 27 January, 2.30pm

    RELAXED PERFORMANCE: Tuesday 30 January, 5.00pm

    Click here for more information about our accessible performances

  • Thomas

    TYRONE HUGGINS

    Matthew

    TREVOR LAIRD

    Richard

    TONDERAI MUNYEVU

    DORCAS SEBUYANGE

Have Your Say

comments powered by Disqus

Join the Discussion