Making Manchester an exciting hub for new writing in the UK.

The Bruntwood Prize is our biennial playwriting competition, open to anyone who lives in the UK. An innovative and ambitious partnership between the Royal Exchange Theatre and property company, Bruntwood, the competition was inspired by two mutual aspirations: to encourage and uncover new writing, and to build a national platform for exciting new talent.

Since its launch in 2005, the Prize has grown into a nationally recognised competition, with over 7,000 entries, 15 prize winners and £160,000 of prize money helping to make it the largest playwriting competition in the UK.

The anonymous nature of the Bruntwood Prize means that all writers - whether established or first-time playwrights - are judged solely on the merit of their submissions. Winning scripts have not only been staged at the Royal Exchange Theatre but across the country, showing at the Lyric Hammersmith, Bush Theatre and Soho Theatre, and in cities including Newcastle, Liverpool and Northampton.

With each competition we are delighted to welcome a prestigious judging panel, with past judges including Richard Wilson, Brenda Blethyn, Simon Stephens, Michael Sheen, Maxine Peake and Dame Jenni Murray.

Each of the winners will enter into a development process with the Royal Exchange Theatre. The winning scripts, will be announced at an awards ceremony in Manchester this November.

Entries for the 2017 prize are now open and are made through this website. Find out more here.