Launched 12 years ago by the property company Bruntwood and the Royal Exchange Theatre, The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting is now Europe’s largest playwriting competition.

Returning for 2017, the competition highlights the importance of new writing for theatre and the value of nurturing playwrights from all backgrounds and experience. Previous winners include Vivienne Franzmann, Katherine Soper, Duncan McMillan and Alistair McDowall.

Judges for this year’s competition are broadcaster Kirsty Lang (Chair), playwright Lucy Prebble, former Bruntwood winner Phil Porter, Royal Exchange Theatre Associate Artistic Director Matthew Xia, Bruntwood founder Michael Oglesby CBE, writer Russell T Davies, actor Don Warrington and award-winning director Lyndsey Turner.

The Bruntwood Prize 2017 - meet the Judges from Royal Exchange Theatre on Vimeo.

A big part of our work every competition is to provide resources and inspiration to writers through writeaplay.co.uk. We’re excited to be broadcasting a series of live workshops from the UK and around the world.

It's thrilling to be able to bring together knowledge from playwrighting experts across the world. Renowned playwright Abhishek Majumdar has already presented a live broadcast from Jawaharla Nehru in Delhi. Coming up in May we’re continuing the series with broadcasts from Australia and New York City.

Although entries for the Prize are open to UK residents only, the legacy of the Bruntwood Prize is truly international. Previous winners have gone on to have their shows produced around the world, including Anna Jordan, whose 2013 prize-winning entry YEN has recently premiered to critical acclaim in New York City.

We hope the writeaplay.co.uk website will live on after the competition to become a writer’s resource for aspiring playwrights and theatre-makers across the world. Please have a look, have a read of our resources or watch one of the live broadcasts. If you have an idea or a script, you could be the next Bruntwood winner!

The Bruntwood Prize 2017 Launch - Previous Winners from Royal Exchange Theatre on Vimeo.